Camron-Stanford House
1418 Lakeside Dr., Oakland 94612 Driving directions
The Green Guide

Useful information


This sedate Italianate residence (1876) on the southwest shore of Lake Merritt was home to a succession of prominent figures, including Josiah Stanford, brother of railroad magnate Leland Stanford. The mansion served as the first Oakland Public Museum from 1910 until 1967, when most of the exhibits were removed for storage pending completion of the new Oakland Museum building. The interior was painstakingly restored to its 19C ap-pearance and reopened for public tours in 1978. The lower floor still exhibits some of the original museum's Oakland history collections, while the main floor showcases Victorian-era interior decoration and furnishings.


  • Route from this place
  • Directions to this place
  • Route via this place
  • Nearby hotels
  • Nearby restaurants

Things to see and donearby

Where to sleepnearby

Where to eatnearby

  • From $25 to $50
    MICHELIN 2019
    867 m - 444 Oak St., Oakland 94607
  • From $25 to $50
    MICHELIN 2019
    1.05 Km - 499 9th St., Oakland 94607
  • From $25 to $50
    MICHELIN 2019
    1.06 Km - 901 Washington St., Oakland 94607